Whispering Creek Cottage was warm and welcoming! Your cottage provided our getaway with inspiration and fresh mountain air for bead retreat. We were able to create without any interruptions! We will always remember the whispers of your cottage! Looking forward to returning. Thank you! ​

Ms. Sanders, Inman, SC, April 2017


We adored our 2nd stay at Whispering Creek.It gave us the much needed chance to reconnect with each other, with our children, and with nature without the distraction of modern interruption. It is truly a magical cottage that lets you forget about the not so great parts of modern life. The anxiety, stress, and ties to insignificant  goals disappear  allowing for the truly important connections to take over making an unforgettable family vacation that we will never forget. Our boys had a blast here, from lounging in the hammock, to throwing rocks in the creek, and roasting marshmallows in the fire pit. Thank you for sharing this enchanting place with us and allowing us to build these precious memories here with our boys!

The Wootens, Harrison, TN, October 2016


What a cute and adorable restored farmhouse you have. It was obvious that much effort and attention to detail was given in the restoration. I was tempted to sleep out on the porch hammock just to fall asleep to the babbling brook from the side of the house. If it had wi-fi, I think I could've stayed for longer!

We enjoyed our stay!    The Gardners, NW Georgia, July 2016


 Our recent stay at your cottage was great! We really enjoyed watching the humming birds, it was the most we had ever seen. One time we counted six right around the feeder! We spent a lot of time on the front porch just swinging and rocking. The kids enjoyed the trails and creek. It was a much needed getaway from the city. We were pleasantly surprised how well stocked the cottage was. Thanks!

Jeff & Kristy, Chesapeake VA, June 2016


Brenda and Steven's cottage was the perfect getaway. My girlfriend and I were in desperate need of a break from the city so we made our way to the mountains. Listening to the trickling creek while sitting on the quant hammock truly helped us unwind. While we spent most of our time at the house, when we did venture out to little Switzerland we found the perfect local used book store where there were some great finds. We also made our way out to the linville caverns and falls which were must sees that bring you under the mountain and on top of them. Overall the house was amazing, which is why we spent most of our time there. Cute, clean, and homie this cottage is the place to spend that needed vacation time in the mountains.

William & Chelsea, Ridgeland, SC, April 2016 


This was our second stay at Whispering Creek Cottage.   We had enjoyed our previous stay, in 2014, so much that when we were planning our 2016 tour of five states, we made sure that we included another stay here.  Once again , everything that we wanted was provided and t he bed was the most comfortable of the six that we slept in during our holiday.  Although on one night the temperature dropped to below 30°  outside we were snug and warm inside.  As it is fairly close to Charlotte Airport, our preferred airport, we intend to include it in our next USA holiday in a few years' time.

C & B Henley, Devizes, England, April 2016


My wife and I had a good time and really enjoyed your cottage. I believe my wife used the expression "cute as a button" at least 10 times to describe the overall effect and individual touches. You've done a great job.   The Leonard’s, Greenville, SC, Nov 2015

Whispering Creek Cottage is an amazingly serene and beautiful step back in time.  You will not believe the peace and tranquil setting this cozy cottage offers.  Our family enjoyed the beauty of the fall season here and we are aching to return.  With easy access to the Blue Ridge Parkway,
this cottage is a must for a NC mountain experience!   Kassie,  Harrison, TN, Oct 2105

Four of us rode our motorcycles almost 300 miles to get here and we stayed for 2 nights. We cooked breakfast both mornings and everything we needed was there. I would definitely consider coming back with my family and renting again. The place was exactly as described on the website and the roads all around the area were great for motorcycles. I highly recommend renting this house if you will be visiting the area and need a place to stay.

Jim, Goldsboro, NC, Sept 2015 ​


We loved this enchanting cottage and would love to return.  Didn't want to leave!   It rained the entire time we were there and that didn't even interfere with us coming and going and enjoying our stay.  The cottage was perfect, comfortable, clean, and had the most wonderful front porch!  We found the cottage to be authentic, comfortable, charming and quaint.  Brenda was very accommodating, flexible and helpful.  One thing that set this cottage apart from others we have stayed in was that it felt like home.  The owners had lots of items that we could use had we left anything behind, like books, magazines, condiments, spices, toiletries.  We didn't get the feeling that they felt the need to keep everything under lock and key.  Out of 5 stars, I give Whispering Creek Cottage 10!     Jenny L., Wake Forest, NC, Sept 2015


The listing was exactly as described. The cabin was well stocked and kitchen had everything we could think of to make great meals. The porch setting with rocking chairs and hammock were the best thing about my stay! Loved the small details and antique feel of the cabin!  
Harvey, Winston Salem, NC, Aug 2015

We love our peaceful stay at the Whispering Creek Cottage. The cottage was very historic and unique, filled with many intriguing novelties. Staying over the weekend felt like going back in time, but still enjoying 21st century amnesties.  Our toddler enjoyed playing in the creek and he also enjoyed sitting by the campfire. This cottage is within minutes to Little Switzerland Inn which has a fantastic restaurant and Emerald Village Gem mine. The temperature for July was fantastic. We would love to stay here again. Seufert, Aiken, NC, May 2015

Our stay at Whispering Creek Cottage was absolutely perfect! The home was so inviting, beautifully decorated and even though over a hundred years old, had all the modern conveniences one would need for a comfortable stay. The wide front porch was perfect for relaxing, and having long conversations with friends. We took advantage of the fire pit deep in the woods, loving the sound on the creek just feet away. The beds were very comfortable. I was a little leery about the second bedroom having a trundle bed, but to my amazement I had the most restful nights sleep! All four of us had the most delightful and extremely peaceful weekend. Our only regret was having to leave. I hope to go back one day, as this home, in so many wonderful ways, was just delightful!  Steins, Cornelius, NC, May 2015

This cottage ranks as my all-time favorite get-away. Never felt so at home in a rental.  I'm an antique lover, and the cottage was decorated to perfection. In addition to ultra fine decorating, the cottage was relaxing and unpretentious. This place is exceptional.  Joanne, Salt Springs, FL, Sept 2014

We have to say that your cottage is fantastic - It is unique in character and charm and has the most welcoming feel when you enter. We instantly felt at home and loved the location, which provided peace and solitude after a hard day's sightseeing. The area has so much to offer which we only caught a snapshot of and would love to return. We could quite happily live there without any hesitation.  Cindy, Durham, NC, Sept 2014

My husband and I truly enjoyed our visit.  We were celebrating our one year anniversary and it was perfect!!  Kim & Ian, Cary, NC, June 2014

My husband and I had a wonderful time at Whispering Creek Cottage. We hope to come back and bring our son with us to enjoy the cottage and all the lovely things to do along the Blue Ridge Parkway. We spent our days out hiking and came home in the evenings to the lovely, quiet cottage.  The cottage was very well stocked with basic necessities. We loved the artwork and decor in the cottage. There are many interesting things to look at and we discovered something new every day.  We truly enjoyed ourselves at the property and would highly recommend it to others!  Carlyn, Blue Mountain, MS, June 2014

What a cool, cute little place right off of the winding mountain road! I was worried it wouldn't feel private being right by the road but never felt intruded on by the scarce amount of cars driving by. If you like the old cabin feel and isolation without giving up too many nice things, this is the place. We arrived as it was getting dark and had no problem finding or getting in to the cottage with the information Brenda gave us. Our first impression of the cottage was dimly lit, but as the energy-efficient bulbs gained brightness the inside started to take on a very "homey" feel. All the colors painted inside are soothing and bright, leaving an older building feeling newer. There are many pieces of art and trinkets adorning the rooms. I was impressed with all the things available to us when we arrived: candles, a variety of toiletries, extra "grubby" towels, food and spices (some leftover from recent guests), starter logs for the firepit (didn't need them), a pie iron or sandwich maker for open fires, utensils, etc. Shower was nice and spacious though and we never ran out of hot water while showering. It was very soothing to be by the bubbling creek, especially when on the front porch or at the fire pit (200ft behind the cottage). We were able to enjoy many restaurants in the surrounding area ("Fresh" a pizza place in Black Mountain & "Knife and Fork" in Spruce Pine) and Asheville is a quick hour and 10min drive! Loved our experience. Unique and Natural.  Joel, Chattanooga, TN, Nov 2013

We enjoyed the porch and the hammock; I think everyone took a nap in it at one point. The kids were freaking out at first because there wasn't any cell phone service, but they accepted it quickly. We had some of our family from Spruce Pine over for dinner and they all fell in love with the cottage. This is our #1 place to stay when we visit again. Next time, I am hoping to have one day to just relax at the cottage... no running, just rocking on the porch and listening to the creek whispering.   Cheri, Taneytown, MD, June 2013

We really enjoyed our stay in your comfortable cottage. We loved the proximity to the parkway and the quiet, beautiful setting and charming decor. The library you had on the area and on the flora and fauna was above an beyond expectations.  We cannot wait to stay there again.  Liz, Baton Rouge, Oct. 2012

We enjoyed the stay and thanks very much for the good service that you provided us. The document that describes the location, and surrounding places is a really good one.   Sam, Alpharetta, GA, October 2012

Arriving in Marion without any reservations, the chamber of commerce provided us with a list of cabin rentals, since we were once Tampa residence, we thought would give Brenda a call,  She was awesome, she informed us that her husband Steve was up at the cottage and that we could drive up and check it out. We were so lucky that it was available and was very reasonable priced! Upon arrival to the cottage, Steve greeted us and showed us around. Whispering Creek Cottage is very clean, quaint, relaxing and very much inviting, the cottage has everything you need  when it comes to amenities. Jeff and I enjoyed relaxing down by the fire pit in the evening listening to the rushing creek and enjoying  breakfast in the morning out on the front porch. Thanks to Brenda and Steve for providing such a relaxing place to stay!   Jeff & Theresa, October 2012

The cottage is cozy, convenient, and very well-appointed.  It is a great blend of history and modern conveniences with an artistic flair!                                                    The Barbour’s,  September 2012

Perfect spot to get away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life and to find peace and solitude.  Very relaxing and quiet and with easy access to the Blue Ridge Parkway for exploring and day trips.  The Thomas Family,  September 2012

We had a wonderful visit at the Whispering Creek Cottage.  We loved hanging out on the front porch with our 2 little girls. We had fun by the creek and roasting marshmallows each night at the fire pit.  We can't wait to come back!  The Mann Family,  August 2012

Great little place nestled in the woods with an awesome little creek babbling. Good place to escape. It has everything you need.  Connie,  August 2012

What a wonderful weekend getaway in a charming mountain cabin!  We hope to stay here again on our next trip to Little Switzerland! We thoroughly enjoyed the sound of the creek outside of the bedroom window, swinging in the hammock, watching the cars navigate the winding road, and the cabin's quiet yet convenient location.  Kristin,  June 2012

We very much enjoyed our stay at the cottage. The house was plenty big for a family of four, especially the kitchen, which was very well supplied. We loved the art and decor, very charming. We will have to come back sometime to enjoy our drinks on the porch to the sound of the creek!   The Flamers,  May 2012

If you want to find a wonderful cozy retreat this early 1900’s  home has been upgraded very tastefully with modern conveniences, while maintaining the charm of its rustic roots. The owners have done a masterful job providing everything you could need. I can testify to that as I rented for the entire season of 2011. I really enjoyed my stay and will never forget the soothing sound of the creek beside the cabin. Other than not being able to stay longer my only regret was the Jacuzzi tub wasn’t operational while I was there. Anyone considering this cabin will enjoy the wonderful atmosphere at the cabin and
the surrounding community.   Kris from Tallahassee, FL 2011

This was our first vacation in NC and we chose this cottage after much research and were NOT disappointed. The front deep porch with the rambling creek near by was just a perfect spot to relax, read or swing in the hammock. For us the porch was very important, as we wanted to be close to nature and the setting was post card perfect. The cottage had all the necessary amenities and was cozy and very comfortable. Brenda, you chose some wonderful woven area rugs to create color, flare and interest. Thank you for sharing your home; we were happy visitors.  Eileen & Stretch, September 2010

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would definitely recommend to anyone looking for a weekend getaway. Peaceful and serene setting with numerous activities, beautiful views and several good restaurants close by.  The Carmichael’s, October 2010

We really enjoyed our stay - just wish it could have been longer.  As you know, this trip was a last-minute deal...what luck that I found your adorable cottage available for us!  We ate lunch at the Little Switzerland Cafe, which was the best meal of our trip.  We had fun on the Blue Ridge Parkway and at the Altapass Orchard.  I'm sure we'll be back, and hopefully stay at Whispering Creek Cottage again!  The Saidak’s, October 2010

Overall, our experience was great. We loved the decor and noticed something everyday that we hadn't seen the day before. You provided rainy day weather entertainment in the form of movies, music and games. The kitchen was well equipped. We found everything we needed. You anticipated about every need in the form of shampoos, soaps, first aid supplies etc. We really were very well pleased and will highly recommend your cottage to others. Thanks for a wonderful few days R&R.   The Ham’s and Allen’s, August 2010

We enjoyed our stay... the cottage was great! We loved the unique touch you put into the home. It really made you feel at home and comfortable and relaxed. You had everything a person could need. It was one of the coolest places we have ever stayed. Everything was very clean. We went panning for emeralds at Emerald Village. I am going to have a ring made. The whole trip was wonderful and we would love to stay at your cottage again. Thank you so much for opening your home to us.  The Darr’s, June 2010

Everything was fine with the cottage--we really loved it.  So peaceful!  The Lee’s, June 2010

My family greatly enjoyed the peace the cabin afforded. My wife and daughter simply loved the interior of the cabin - you have done a fine job. It is fun and quirky, but still very functional. I would recommend your cabin to anyone staying in the area. I greatly enjoyed the Spruce Pine-Bakersville area, which I had never visited before. We would certainly like to stay at your place again.  The Wallace’s, June 2010

We had a great time at the Whispering Creek Cottage.  We celebrated our 50th wedding anniversary there and enjoyed our four days in the Blue Ridge Mountains.  It was so peaceful and serene and the weather was great, too!  How fortunate we were to have found the cottage on the internet and that there was a vacancy during the time we wanted to stay.  Thank you for sharing your cottage with us.  It was memorable.  The Robinson’s, August 2009

This is one of the cutest Cottages I have ever seen.  Lazy days are what this place is all about!  We enjoyed listening to the running creek as we rocked on the front porch or swinging in the hammock watching the humming birds go back and forth from the lush green oak tree to the whimsical feeders.  On the weekend the various styles of motorcycles traveling the winding mountain road was very entertaining.  This cottage is not for the five star hotel comfort lovers but if you want to step back in time to a place where life is not about to run you over and you can relax enough to hear the voice of God in your spirit this is the place for you.   The cool mountain breezes are awaiting and God's wonderful and not so wonderful ;-) creation is all around!  (Everything has it's purpose and sometimes the purpose is to scare me!) Remember it is a 1915 mountain home!  When I walked in I was immediately taken back to my grandparents home in the foothills of NC which has long been gone from the family.  Come and sit a spell or ride up to Little Switzerland and get on the parkway for breathe taking vistas (beautiful panoramic views) and find out why they call them the Great Smokey Mountains!  I look forward to returning in the early spring or late fall!   Pattie, August 2009

We had a wonderful and relaxing time. The kids asked the whole time if we could come back.  We will be returning.  Tiffany & Craig, Aug 2009

Our stay at the cottage was wonderful.  My husband wanted to know if we could get a little money back from use of the cabin because we stayed on the porch most of the time!!! I loved the porch. It is like another room & you have it fixed up so cute. Our granddaughter loved the hammock & became an expert at entering & exiting & staying on…  She had a great time. We saw wild turkeys there on the property which excited her. Every time I looked out of the kitchen window, I expected to see a deer up on that ridge out back, but never did. I am sure he was there watching me!!   Emile & Corky, July 2009

Your North Carolina cabin was a fantastic place to relax and vacation!  Such a beautiful interior, marvelous front porch and great fire pit.  We grilled dinner several nights, roasted marshmallows, lounged in the hammock, and even fished in the creek. The kids called this cabin 'the best yet!' Thank you so much for the hospitality, I believe we would like to return sometime in the future.  Bruce & Jo, July 2009

What can I say about my stay at Whispering Creek Cottage? Well, first and foremost, it was way too short of a stay, second I wish I lived closer, as this is somewhere I should be going at least three to four weekends a year at a minimum. The day I arrived, it was raining very lightly. I unloaded the car, and sat down in the hammock to listen to the rain tapping on the roof and clicking on the leaves of the trees. I quickly fell asleep in the hammock. The house is decorated so comfortably, that I felt right at home. I really enjoyed that I could cook if I wanted to, or simply just bring home take-out from the days sight-seeing. The creek on the side of the house made sleeping a pure joy. On the day I had to leave, I didn't want to go. I felt so at home, so rested, and so peaceful, and leaving meant going into traffic, and back to daily life. Brenda and Steve, I'd like to thank you so much for sharing your wonderful
cottage with me. It has given me a well needed rest away from life's daily stresses and yet awakened artistic side of me.
I look forward to returning there again, hopefully very soon.   Billie Jo Bruha, June 2009

My husband and I needed a quick and close get-away from our home to relax and be restored from our busy lives. Whispering Cottage offered just what we needed... quiet and peaceful rest! We LOVED the  decor and wonderful front porch. Each morning we woke to the singing of the creek just outside our bedroom window. We WILL return!   Wimmers from Charlotte,  N.C.  2008

Whispering Creek Cottage is a piece of heaven in the Appalachian mountains.  We enjoyed fishing in 
the creek for crayfish and then eating our rewards for lunch.  At night we sat by the campfire toasting marshmallows.  The cottage is equipped with all modern  conveniences and plenty of games and reading material for everyone.  It's a family friendly place with plenty to do at and around the cottage.  Forget about cell phones and the TV, there's no time for either just plenty of time for family fun.  Make sure you read the local guide set out by the owners, we especially loved the horse riding which we would have never found by ourselves.   Pringle Family, July 2008

I want to let you know how much I enjoyed my stay at your cottage in Little Switzerland, NC. I do not know when the cottage was built but it was most charming and comfortable. The location near the Blue Ridge Parkway was perfect and we were within an hour of many attractions such as the Biltmore Estate in Asheville and Grand Father Mountain in Linville. Your cottage was a delight for relaxing and sightseeing.
I look forward to coming back again.  Irwin Baron, August 2007

Thank you so much for sharing your cozy cottage with our family. It was such a comfort to have this beautiful home to come back to after a full day of exploring North Carolina. The kids loved spending the mornings looking for salamanders and crawfish in the creek and picking wild raspberries to top their cereal for breakfast. I loved the large front porch, sitting there watching the birds with the sound of the creek in the background was instant therapy! I think my husband loved all the things we discovered in and around Little Switzerland. We hiked, found local galleries to explore, and met the nicest people in the neighboring towns. I fell in love with the cottage, it became home for us that week. It was the best vacation we have ever had! Chip & Anne, December 2007

Testimonials